Driving in Doksy: Poplatek Za Vjezd

Doksy, Czechia · Limited traffic zone

Official name Vybraná místa – vjezd s motorovým vozidlem do vybraných míst a částí města

What applies

Doksy is the lake town of this corpus, and it is the first Czech record where not one charged place is a street. Příloha č. 1 to obecně závazná vyhláška č.

5/2023 lists five, and all five are recreation ground: the compounds of Máchovo jezero including the beaches and the Yacht club, the compounds of the holiday facilities in the locality below Borný, the cottage area from Bílý kámen as far as the Jordán brook in Doksy, the compound of the holiday facility below the Štědrá hill, and the tennis-court compounds in Doksy and in Staré Splavy. Čl.

2 says what the charge buys, in the words every Czech ordinance of this kind uses: a permit into places "do kterých je jinak vjezd zakázán příslušnou dopravní značkou", where entry is otherwise prohibited by the appropriate traffic sign. The tariff is the first in the Czech corpus with a weekend on it.

A started day is 50 Kč; then a flat 100 Kč covers the period from Friday to Sunday, 200 Kč a calendar week and 1 000 Kč a calendar year — which is a resort town pricing the thing its visitors actually do. The arithmetic is worth doing before paying by the day: the Friday-to-Sunday rate is two days' worth, the week is four, and the year is twenty. Čl.

6 splits the due dates in a way that follows that split rather than the obvious one — the daily fee and the Friday-to-Sunday flat fall due together with the permit, while the weekly and the annual flat fall due on the last day of the week and of the calendar year, after the driving rather than before it. Čl.

7 exempts natural persons registered as living in a charged place or owning property there, people close to them, their spouses and their children, anyone using property in a charged place for business or public-benefit activity, and holders of a ZTP or ZTP/P card together with their companions; an entitlement lapses if the fact behind it is not reported in the time the ordinance or the law sets.

The charge administrator is the městský úřad. The ordinance was passed on 11 October 2023, took effect on 1 January 2024 and repealed the town's č. 6/2019 of 11 December 2019; the national register records this one as Platné and that repeal as done.

Two Czech municipalities are called Doksy and this is the one by the lake, in the Česká Lípa district — the other is a village of 1,075 people near Kladno, 67 km away, with no Staré Splavy in it.

Source: Město Doksy, read 2026-09-15
Full citation

Město Doksy — Obecně závazná vyhláška města Doksy č. 5/2023 o místním poplatku za povolení k vjezdu s motorovým vozidlem do vybraných míst a částí měst, čl. 1 to čl. 9 and Příloha č. 1, as deposited in the Ministry of the Interior's national register of municipal legislation (SPP). The watched strings are on the register's result page for this town and this subject area; the wording itself is in the .docx the register serves at /detail/SPPD5PSMDWJJLSEQ/text

Daily charge
50.00 CZKSource: Město Doksy, read 2026-09-15
Full citation

Město Doksy — Obecně závazná vyhláška č. 5/2023, čl. 5 odst. 1: "Sazba poplatku činí za každý započatý den 50 Kč". Per started day. Čl. 5 odst. 2 then sets three flat rates, and the first of them is a weekend: "paušální částka za období od pátku do neděle 100 Kč", "paušální částka za kalendářní týden 200 Kč", "paušální částka za kalendářní rok 1000 Kč". There is no monthly rate in this ordinance. Čl. 6 makes the daily fee and the Friday-to-Sunday flat due together with the permit, and the weekly and annual flat due on the last day of the week and of the calendar year. The driver chooses the flat rate in the declaration under čl. 4 odst. 1. This source is the register's .docx of the act, and since D-192 the monitor unzips it and reads the wording: the strings watched here are quoted from the act itself, and the register's result page for the same act is watched separately

When it operates

The ordinance states no hours. It prices a permit by the started day, by the period from Friday to Sunday, by the calendar week and by the calendar year, and never mentions a time of day. Čl.

2 says where the ban itself comes from, in the words every Czech ordinance of this kind uses: the charge is for a permit into places "do kterých je jinak vjezd zakázán příslušnou dopravní značkou" — where entry is otherwise prohibited by the appropriate traffic sign. Any time window belongs to that sign, and a sign is not a document we have read from an official source.

The Friday-to-Sunday rate is the closest thing here to a timetable, and it is a price for a stretch of days, not a restriction that starts and stops.

Area covered

Five places, listed in Příloha č. 1, which čl. 3 makes an integral part of the ordinance.

None of them is a street. First, the compounds of Máchovo jezero including the beaches and the Yacht club — "areály Máchova jezera včetně pláží a Yacht klubu". Second, the compounds of the holiday facilities in the locality below Borný — "areály rekreačních zařízení lokality pod Borným".

Third, the cottage area from Bílý kámen as far as the Jordán brook in Doksy — "chatová oblast Bílý kámen po potok Jordán v Doksech", the only one of the five given as a run between two named landmarks. Fourth, the compound of the holiday facility below the Štědrá hill — "areál rekreačního zařízení pod vrchem Štědrá".

Fifth, the tennis-court compounds in Doksy and in Staré Splavy — "areály tenisových kurtů v Doksech a Starých Splavech", which is the one entry that reaches into the town's second settlement. Staré Splavy is a part of the municipality of Doksy, not a municipality of its own. The annex names these places and does not draw them, and it puts no boundary on any compound beyond its name.

Source: Město Doksy, read 2026-09-15
Full citation

Město Doksy — Obecně závazná vyhláška č. 5/2023, čl. 3 and Příloha č. 1. Unlike Kladno, whose annex to the same kind of ordinance is a JPEG, this annex is text inside the act's own .docx and can be read as words. This source is the register's .docx of the act, and since D-192 the monitor unzips it and reads the wording, so the strings watched here are the act's own

We have not checked for a map yet
The town does not publish a perimeter with the ordinance. Příloha č. 1 is text rather than a drawing, which is why this town is published where Kladno is withheld, but naming a compound is not the same as bounding it: "areály Máchova jezera včetně pláží a Yacht klubu" says which ground is meant and not where it stops, and only the third entry is given as a run between two landmarks. Drawing any of the five would be our line rather than the town's. Whether Doksy publishes the charged places as a map or a dataset of its own has not been looked at, and we will not record it as unpublished before looking. The warning is municipality-wide meanwhile, and it needs to be: the five places are scattered rather than clustered, the tennis courts alone sit in two different settlements, and the furthest corner of the municipal relation is 11.38 km from the town anchor.
Petrol standard

There is no emission test. The ordinance asks nothing of the engine: entry turns on holding a permit, and every exemption in čl. 7 is about who the driver is or what they do with a property in a charged place — being registered there, owning there, being a close relative, a spouse or a child of someone who is, using a property there for business or public-benefit activity, or holding a ZTP or ZTP/P card.

Nothing in it is about what comes out of the exhaust. Unlike Karlovy Vary and Mariánské Lázně, this town does not exempt battery-electric vehicles, and unlike Znojmo, Janské Lázně and Boskovice it does not grade anything on weight either: one tariff covers every motor vehicle.

Diesel standard

There is no emission test, for diesel or for anything else, and there is no Czech scheme that sets one. On 15 September 2026 the Ministry of the Interior's national register of municipal legislation held zero acts, in the whole country and over its whole history, whose title contains "emisn" — the stem of nízkoemisní zóna — against 107 for "vjezd" and 4 029 for the control phrase "o nočním klidu".

That zero was never evidence on its own, and cycle 67 read the statute to find out why. § 14 odst. 1 of the Air Protection Act (201/2012 Sb.), read from the ministry's official ELI endpoint in the version in force on 15 September 2026, creates a nízkoemisní zóna by "opatřením obecné povahy vydaným v přenesené působnosti" — a measure of general nature issued in delegated state administration, decided by the rada obce.

This register holds obecně závazné vyhlášky and nařízení, and an opatření obecné povahy is neither, so a Czech low emission zone could not appear here whatever municipalities had done.

What the register does rule out is the money: § 14a lets a municipality set a nízkoemisní poplatek by obecně závazná vyhláška, which would be filed here, and the register's controlled vocabulary of 137 statutory empowerments cites 201/2012 Sb. exactly three times — § 10 odst. 4 (10 acts filed under it), § 16 odst.

5 (241) and § 17 odst. 5 (19) — and never § 14 or § 14a. So no Czech municipality has introduced a low-emission charge.

Cycle 68 read that other collection, and it settles the rest. § 14 odst. 6 requires a municipality that establishes a zone to send the measure to the Ministry of the Environment within one month of announcing it, and the state service catalogue registers the ministry’s duty to publish the resulting list as agenda A1126, in force since 29 May 2021.

That list is a page on the ministry’s own site, and on 15 September 2026 it read "V ČR zatím nebyla v žádné obci zavedena nízkoemisní zóna" — no municipality in the Czech Republic has yet established a low emission zone — and added that the national system for checking a vehicle against a zone has not been switched on, because there is no zone to check it against.

This is no longer an inference from a register that could not have held the instrument: it is the receiving ministry’s own statement, on the page its own service catalogue names as the statutory list. The one restriction the ministry does name is in Prague, where parts of the city bar vehicles over 3.5 tonnes that do not meet Euro 6, and it says in the same sentence that this is not a nízkoemisní zóna within § 14.

We do not publish that Prague restriction here, and cycle 69 measured why rather than assuming it. The ministry points at the city’s own service catalogue for the detail, and praha.eu serves those entries from /api/, a path its robots.txt forbids. The two channels that are not forbidden were then asked, and both answer nothing.

The city’s own register of vyhlášky a nařízení holds 1,049 acts and returns zero for vjezd, nákladní, emisní, nízkoemisní, tranzit and Euro, against controls of 12 for ovzduší, 13 for vozidel, 12 for omezení, 8 for stání and 5 for zákaz on the same instrument; the only two acts it returns for emis are air-quality programmes for 2006 and 2010-2012.

The city’s open data catalogue at opendata.praha.eu holds 408 datasets and returns zero for vjezd, nákladní, emisní, značení, tranzit and Euro, against controls of 23 for doprava and 2 for zóna. Prague’s own sitemaps enumerate 67,796 URLs and none of them is a rule page for it either.

That is consistent with what the ministry says the instrument is: not an ordinance and not a § 14 zone, but a road authority’s act carried on a traffic sign.

Penalty if you do not comply

No official source we hold states a fine for driving in. The ordinance sets the rates, the due dates and the exemptions, and adds only that an entitlement to an exemption lapses if the fact behind it is not reported in the time set — it never prices the offence.

Driving past the sign without a permit is an offence against the traffic sign under the road traffic act, which the ordinance does not cite and whose scale we have not read from an official register. Not estimated.

How to comply
  • Five places around the lake are closed to motor vehicles by traffic sign and charged: the Máchovo jezero compounds including the beaches and the Yacht club, the holiday-facility compounds below Borný, the cottage area from Bílý kámen to the Jordán brook, the holiday-facility compound below the Štědrá hill, and the tennis-court compounds in Doksy and Staré Splavy.
  • None of the five is a street, and the annex gives no boundary beyond the name of each compound. Read the sign at the entrance to the one you are driving into.
  • A permit costs 50 Kč for each started day. It is due at the moment the permit is issued.
  • For a weekend take the flat rate: 100 Kč covers the period from Friday to Sunday, which is what two started days already cost. It is also due when the permit is issued.
  • A calendar week is 200 Kč — four days' worth — and a calendar year is 1 000 Kč, twenty days' worth. There is no monthly rate.
  • Those two flat fees fall due on the last day of the week and on the last day of the calendar year, not when the permit is issued. That is čl. 6 odst. 2, and it is the opposite way round from the daily and weekend fees.
  • Tell the charge administrator which flat rate you are choosing when you file the declaration under čl. 4, not afterwards.
  • File the declaration at the latest when you apply for the permit, and report any change in what you declared within 15 days.
  • You pay nothing if you are registered as living in a charged place or own property there, or are a close relative, spouse or child of someone who is; if you use property there for business or public-benefit activity; or if you hold a ZTP or ZTP/P card, where a companion is covered too.
  • Report the fact your exemption rests on within the time the ordinance or the law sets. If you do not, čl. 7 odst. 2 says the entitlement lapses.
  • Administration is by the městský úřad, which čl. 1 names as the charge administrator.
  • This is Doksy in the Česká Lípa district, the town on Mácha's Lake. A second Czech municipality called Doksy sits 67 km away near Kladno and charges nothing of this kind.
Source: Město Doksy, read 2026-09-15
Full citation

Město Doksy — Obecně závazná vyhláška č. 5/2023, čl. 1 to čl. 7 and Příloha č. 1. This source is the register's .docx of the act, and since D-192 the monitor unzips it and reads the wording, so the strings watched here are the act's own

Sources

Next scheduled re-check: 2027-03-15.

Before you set off

Other cities in Czechia

And 6 more in Czechia