Driving in Pec pod Sněžkou: Limited traffic zone

Pec pod Sněžkou, Czechia · Limited traffic zone

Official name Vybraná místa – vjezd s motorovým vozidlem do vybraných míst a částí města

What applies

Pec pod Sněžkou sits under the highest mountain in Czechia, and the roads that climb from it into the inner protection zone of the Krkonoše National Park are closed to motor vehicles by traffic sign. The town's ordinance č.

1/2026 sets the price of the permit that lets you past, and unlike every other Czech town in this corpus it is not a zone around a square — it is six mountain roads, each described as running from a named landmark towards the settlements above it.

In Pec itself: the local road from the Zelený potok bridge up towards Poustevník, Vysoký svah, Lučiny, Zahrádky, Hnědý vrch, Javor and Stráň, and the road from the Bystřiny car park to the Lesovna in the Úpa valley. In Velká Úpa: from house no. 185, the former health centre, up to Klausenwald; from the junction at no.

132, the Uran, up to Prostřední and Zadní výsluní, Žlebský důl, Přední výsluní and Janovy boudy; from no. 240, the Starý mlýn, up to Hlušiny; and from the junction at no. 260, the Alamo, up to Vavřincův důl, Hlušiny and Schneiderova stráň.

A day costs 100 Kč per vehicle. The rate that matters to a visitor staying in one of the chalets is the one below it: 200 Kč buys eight days for a vehicle whose occupants are staying in the zone, which is two days' worth of driving for a week and a day of it. Commuting to work costs 200 Kč for a whole year; anything else is 1 000 Kč a year.

For a single day, or part of one, no declaration is required at all.

Nobody pays who is registered inside the charged place or owns property there, nor their close family, nor property users in business or public-benefit activity, nor ZTP and ZTP/P holders and their companions, and the ordinance adds emergency services, mountain rescue, the Trutnov municipal police and water utility, undertakers, waste vehicles, the Krkonoše National Park Administration and the town's own vehicles.

The ordinance took effect on 1 April 2026 and replaced the town's 2024 one; the national register records it as Platné.

Source: Město Pec pod Sněžkou, read 2026-09-15
Full citation

Město Pec pod Sněžkou — Obecně závazná vyhláška č. 1/2026 o místních poplatcích, část V (čl. 19 to čl. 24) and příloha č. 2, as deposited in the Ministry of the Interior's national register of municipal legislation (SPP). The watched strings are on the register's result page for this town and this subject area; the wording itself is in the .docx the register serves at /detail/SPPMVCEZIUMZNKC6/text

Daily charge
100.00 CZKSource: Město Pec pod Sněžkou, read 2026-09-15
Full citation

Město Pec pod Sněžkou — Obecně závazná vyhláška č. 1/2026, čl. 22: "Sazba poplatku činí: za vozidlo a každý započatý den 100 Kč". Per vehicle and per started day. The same article sets three flat alternatives — 200 Kč a year for a vehicle used to commute to work, 1 000 Kč a year in other cases, and 200 Kč for eight days for a vehicle belonging to people staying in the zone, which is the rate a holidaymaker actually wants. Čl. 23 makes the charge due at the same moment the permit is issued, and allows payment at a payment machine, in which case the day of payment is the day of settlement. This source is the register's .docx of the act, and since D-192 the monitor unzips it and reads the wording: the strings watched here are quoted from the act itself, and the register's result page for the same act is watched separately

When it operates

The ordinance states no hours. It prices a permit by the started day, by eight days and by the year, and never mentions a time of day. Čl.

19 says where the ban itself comes from, in the words every Czech ordinance of this kind uses: the charge is for a permit into places "do kterých je jinak vjezd zakázán příslušnou dopravní značkou" — where entry is otherwise prohibited by the appropriate traffic sign. Čl. 20 adds that a supplementary plate may be fitted under that sign but does not say what any of them read.

Any time window belongs to the sign, and a sign is not a document we have read from an official source.

Area covered

Six local roads, described in příloha č. 2 in words and also drawn on a map. In Pec pod Sněžkou: the local road from the Zelený potok bridge towards the town districts inside the inner protection zone of the Krkonoše National Park — Poustevník, Vysoký svah, Lučiny, Zahrádky, Hnědý vrch, Javor and Stráň; and the road from the Bystřiny car park to the Lesovna, in the Úpské údolí district.

In Velká Úpa: from house no. 185, the former health centre, towards Klausenwald; from the junction at house no. 132, the Uran, towards Prostřední výsluní, Zadní výsluní, Žlebský důl, Přední výsluní and Janovy boudy; from house no.

240, the Starý mlýn, towards Hlušiny; and from the junction at house no. 260, the Alamo, towards Vavřincův důl, Hlušiny and Schneiderova stráň. Every one of the six is a road from a point upwards rather than an enclosed area, and each is anchored to a landmark or a house number rather than to a street name, because above the valley floor there are no street names to use.

The line where each road stops is not stated in the words; for that the annex's map is the only statement.

Source: Město Pec pod Sněžkou, read 2026-09-15
Full citation

Město Pec pod Sněžkou — Obecně závazná vyhláška č. 1/2026, čl. 20 and příloha č. 2 ("Vybraná místa pro zpoplatněný vjezd motorových vozidel"). This source is the register's .docx of the act, and since D-192 the monitor unzips it and reads the wording, so the strings watched here are the act's own

Why there is no map here
The town does publish the perimeter: příloha č. 2 to the ordinance ends with the words "zákres v mapě" and carries the drawing, which the register serves inside the act's own .docx as a 666 kB JPEG. It is a picture, not a geometry, and tracing it would produce our line rather than the town's. That matters more here than anywhere else in the Czech corpus, because the six charged roads are described as running from a named landmark "towards" the settlements above, and the point where each one stops appears only on that drawing. Whether Pec pod Sněžkou publishes the same thing as a dataset anywhere else has not been looked at.

The authority's own map: Město Pec pod Sněžkou, via the Ministry of the Interior's national register of…

Petrol standard

There is no emission test. The ordinance asks nothing of the engine, which is worth saying twice here because the charged roads lead into the inner protection zone of a national park and a reader could reasonably expect an environmental condition: there is none. Entry turns on holding a permit, and every exemption in čl.

24 is about who the driver is or what service the vehicle performs, never about what comes out of the exhaust. A battery-electric car pays the same 100 Kč a day as anything else.

Diesel standard

There is no emission test, for diesel or for anything else, and there is no Czech scheme that sets one. On 15 September 2026 the Ministry of the Interior's national register of municipal legislation held zero acts, in the whole country and over its whole history, whose title contains "emisn" — the stem of nízkoemisní zóna — against 107 for "vjezd" and 4 029 for the control phrase "o nočním klidu".

That zero was never evidence on its own, and cycle 67 read the statute to find out why. § 14 odst. 1 of the Air Protection Act (201/2012 Sb.), read from the ministry's official ELI endpoint in the version in force on 15 September 2026, creates a nízkoemisní zóna by "opatřením obecné povahy vydaným v přenesené působnosti" — a measure of general nature issued in delegated state administration, decided by the rada obce.

This register holds obecně závazné vyhlášky and nařízení, and an opatření obecné povahy is neither, so a Czech low emission zone could not appear here whatever municipalities had done.

What the register does rule out is the money: § 14a lets a municipality set a nízkoemisní poplatek by obecně závazná vyhláška, which would be filed here, and the register's controlled vocabulary of 137 statutory empowerments cites 201/2012 Sb. exactly three times — § 10 odst. 4 (10 acts filed under it), § 16 odst.

5 (241) and § 17 odst. 5 (19) — and never § 14 or § 14a. So no Czech municipality has introduced a low-emission charge.

Cycle 68 read that other collection, and it settles the rest. § 14 odst. 6 requires a municipality that establishes a zone to send the measure to the Ministry of the Environment within one month of announcing it, and the state service catalogue registers the ministry’s duty to publish the resulting list as agenda A1126, in force since 29 May 2021.

That list is a page on the ministry’s own site, and on 15 September 2026 it read "V ČR zatím nebyla v žádné obci zavedena nízkoemisní zóna" — no municipality in the Czech Republic has yet established a low emission zone — and added that the national system for checking a vehicle against a zone has not been switched on, because there is no zone to check it against.

This is no longer an inference from a register that could not have held the instrument: it is the receiving ministry’s own statement, on the page its own service catalogue names as the statutory list. The one restriction the ministry does name is in Prague, where parts of the city bar vehicles over 3.5 tonnes that do not meet Euro 6, and it says in the same sentence that this is not a nízkoemisní zóna within § 14.

We do not publish that Prague restriction here, and cycle 69 measured why rather than assuming it. The ministry points at the city’s own service catalogue for the detail, and praha.eu serves those entries from /api/, a path its robots.txt forbids. The two channels that are not forbidden were then asked, and both answer nothing.

The city’s own register of vyhlášky a nařízení holds 1,049 acts and returns zero for vjezd, nákladní, emisní, nízkoemisní, tranzit and Euro, against controls of 12 for ovzduší, 13 for vozidel, 12 for omezení, 8 for stání and 5 for zákaz on the same instrument; the only two acts it returns for emis are air-quality programmes for 2006 and 2010-2012.

The city’s open data catalogue at opendata.praha.eu holds 408 datasets and returns zero for vjezd, nákladní, emisní, značení, tranzit and Euro, against controls of 23 for doprava and 2 for zóna. Prague’s own sitemaps enumerate 67,796 URLs and none of them is a rule page for it either.

That is consistent with what the ministry says the instrument is: not an ordinance and not a § 14 zone, but a road authority’s act carried on a traffic sign.

Penalty if you do not comply

No official source we hold states a fine for driving in. The ordinance sets the rates, the due dates and the exemptions, and adds only that an entitlement to an exemption lapses if the fact behind it is not reported in time — it never prices the offence.

Driving past the sign without a permit is an offence against the traffic sign under the road traffic act, which the ordinance does not cite and whose scale we have not read from an official register. The national park has its own access rules under the nature protection act, and we have not read those either. Not estimated.

How to comply
  • The six mountain roads listed in příloha č. 2 — from the Zelený potok bridge, from the Bystřiny car park, and in Velká Úpa from houses no. 185, no. 132 (Uran), no. 240 (Starý mlýn) and no. 260 (Alamo) — are closed to motor vehicles by traffic sign. Unless an exemption covers you, you need a permit before you drive up.
  • A permit costs 100 Kč per vehicle for each started day, due when the permit is issued.
  • If you are staying in accommodation inside the charged area, ask for the eight-day rate: 200 Kč for the vehicle. That is the cheapest way through for a normal stay — two days' worth of charge for eight days of driving.
  • An annual permit costs 200 Kč if the vehicle is used to commute to work inside the area, and 1 000 Kč in any other case.
  • For a one-off permit covering a single day or part of one, čl. 21 odst. 3 waives the declaration entirely. For anything longer you file it, and report any change in what you declared within 15 days.
  • The ordinance allows payment at a payment machine as well as by the ordinary means; paying at the machine settles the charge on the day you pay.
  • You pay nothing if you are registered as living inside the charged place or own property there, or are a close relative, spouse or child of someone who is; if you use property inside it for business or public-benefit activity; or if you hold a ZTP or ZTP/P card, where a companion is covered too.
  • Čl. 24 odst. 2 also exempts vehicles of the integrated rescue system, the health service, the Horská služba mountain rescue, the Trutnov municipal police and Vodovody a kanalizace Trutnov; undertakers' vehicles; licensed waste-collection vehicles; vehicles of the Krkonoše National Park Administration; and the town's own vehicles.
  • Report a fact an exemption rests on within the time the ordinance or the statute sets. If you do not, čl. 24 says the entitlement lapses.
  • Administration is by the Městský úřad Pec pod Sněžkou, which čl. 1 names as the charge administrator for all four of the town's local charges.
Source: Město Pec pod Sněžkou, read 2026-09-15
Full citation

Město Pec pod Sněžkou — Obecně závazná vyhláška č. 1/2026, čl. 1 and čl. 19 to čl. 24. This source is the register's .docx of the act, and since D-192 the monitor unzips it and reads the wording, so the strings watched here are the act's own

Sources

Next scheduled re-check: 2027-03-15.

Before you set off

Other cities in Czechia

And 6 more in Czechia